At a glance
- Deployment
- saas
- Licence
- proprietary
- Categories
- observability platform, apm, log management, rum synthetics, llm observability, instrumentation
- Ownership
- Acquired by Francisco Partners and TPG, closed 2023-11
- Estimate
- Costed from published list prices
- Vendor-side sampling
- offered
What it charges for
Every line item recorded for New Relic. "Not stated" means the vendor's own page gives no number; it is never treated as zero.
| Line item | Unit | Commitment | List price | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Data ingest - Original Data | gb-ingested | pay-as-you-go; commit contracts on Pro/Enterprise | $0.4 | s1, s3 |
| Data ingest - Data Plus | gb-ingested | pay-as-you-go; commit contracts on Pro/Enterprise | $0.6 | s1, s2, s3 |
| EU data center ingest surcharge | gb-ingested | same as base ingest | $0.05 | s1 |
| Core user (all paid editions) | user-month | monthly | $49 | s1, s2 |
| Full platform user - Standard edition (first) | user-month | monthly | $10 | s1, s2 |
| Full platform user - Standard edition (additional) | user-month | monthly | $99 | s1, s2 |
| Full platform user - Pro edition (annual) | user-month | annual commitment | $349 | s1, s2 |
| Full platform user - Pro edition (pay-as-you-go) | user-month | monthly, no commitment | $418.8 | s1, s2 |
| Full platform user - Enterprise edition | user-month | contract | Not stated | s1 |
| Core Compute (Data + Core Compute plan) | credit | contract | Not stated | s3, s4 |
| Advanced Compute add-on | credit | Pro/Enterprise | Not stated | s1, s2, s27 |
| Additional synthetic checks | test-run-thousand | pay-as-you-go | $5 | s1, s2 |
| Live archives (logs) storage | gb-retained-month | unknown | Not stated | s13 |
How the estimate is built
The standard deployment is priced by these components (methodology). A quantity is a formula over the workload variables; free allowances are subtracted first, and a tier prices only its own band.
| Component | Line item | Quantity | Free | Tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Data ingest beyond 100 GB (logs + spans + metrics) | Data ingest - Original Data · per gb-ingested · pay-as-you-go; commit contracts on Pro/Enterprise | ceil(log_gb + span_gb + metric_samples_million * 0.1) | 100 | |
| Full platform users (Pro, annual) | Full platform user - Pro edition (annual) · per user-month · annual commitment | users |
Example monthly bills
The same four illustrative workloads as the calculator, at list price. "At least" means a price the vendor does not state is left out of the total.
| Workload | Per month | Note | Calculator |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $1,058 | Open Starter in the calculator→ | |
| Small | $2,116 | Open Small in the calculator→ | |
| Medium | $18,092 | Open Medium in the calculator→ | |
| Large | $145,944 | Open Large in the calculator→ |
Capabilities
What New Relic offers, by the definitions in the dataset. Add-on means a separately priced product.
| Capability | Level | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Ai assistant nl query Natural-language query or chat assistant | Yes | s22 |
| Ai root cause AI-assisted root-cause analysis or investigation agent | Add-on | s21 |
| Alerting Alert rules with routing/notification | Yes | s17 |
| Anomaly detection Statistical/ML anomaly detection on telemetry | Yes | s17, s19 |
| Audit logs Audit log of user/admin actions | Yes | s24 |
| Data reduction Drop, aggregate, dedupe, or convert logs-to-metrics before billing | Add-on | s10 |
| Ebpf autoinstrumentation Zero-code instrumentation via eBPF | Yes | s9 |
| Fedramp FedRAMP authorized (state level in note) | Partial | s2, s26 |
| Hipaa HIPAA-eligible (BAA available) | Partial | s2, s26 |
| Llm observability LLM/agent tracing, token and cost tracking, evaluations | Yes | s16 |
| Logs Log management | Yes | s1 |
| Mcp server Exposes an MCP server for agents | Yes | s22 |
| Metrics Metrics | Yes | s1 |
| Multi destination routing Route one stream to several third-party destinations | Partial | s12, s2 |
| Observability as code Terraform provider / dashboards-and-alerts as code | Yes | s18 |
| Otel collector distro Ships or supports its own OpenTelemetry Collector distribution | Yes | s6 |
| Otlp ingest Accepts OTLP (gRPC or HTTP) natively, without a proprietary agent in the path | Yes | s5 |
| Pii redaction Mask/redact sensitive data in the pipeline | Partial | s2 |
| Pipeline processing Parse, enrich, transform in flight before storage | Add-on | s10 |
| Prometheus remote write Accepts Prometheus remote_write | Yes | s7 |
| Promql Query with PromQL (or a compatible dialect) | Partial | s7, s8 |
| Proprietary agent required Full functionality needs the vendor's own agent (yes = lock-in signal) | Partial | s5 |
| Rbac Role-based access control | Yes | s23 |
| Rehydration Re-ingest archived data for search on demand | No | s13 |
| Rum Real-user monitoring (browser/mobile) | Yes | s14 |
| Saas Vendor-hosted SaaS | Yes | s1, s5 |
| Sampling tail Tail-based trace sampling | Partial | s11 |
| Self hosted Customer can run it on its own infrastructure | No | s10 |
| Service map Auto-discovered service/topology map | Yes | s19 |
| Slo management First-class SLO/error-budget objects | Yes | s18 |
| Sso saml SSO via SAML/OIDC | Yes | s23 |
| Synthetics Synthetic monitoring | Yes | s1, s15 |
| Tiered storage Hot/warm/cold or archive tiers priced differently | Partial | s13, s3 |
| Traces Distributed tracing | Yes | s11 |
| Usage cost controls Quotas, budgets, usage attribution to teams | Partial | s25 |
Sources
Every page cited above, with the date it was read. Third-party pages are marked; a price stated only by a third party is shown as not stated.
Spotted a wrong price? A way to report one is not set up yet.