At a glance
- Deployment
- saas
- Licence
- proprietary
- Categories
- log management, siem, observability platform, metrics backend, tracing backend, rum synthetics
- Ownership
- Acquired by Francisco Partners, closed 2023-05-12
- Estimate
- Costed from published list prices
- Vendor-side sampling
- no
What it charges for
Every line item recorded for Sumo Logic. "Not stated" means the vendor's own page gives no number; it is never treated as zero.
| Line item | Unit | Commitment | List price | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cloud Flex Credit - Essentials | credit | annual prepaid | $0.15 | s-credit-pricing |
| Cloud Flex Credit - Enterprise Operations | credit | annual prepaid | $0.2125 | s-credit-pricing, s-credit-terms |
| Cloud Flex Credit - Enterprise Security | credit | annual prepaid | $0.225 | s-credit-pricing |
| Cloud Flex Credit - Enterprise Suite | credit | annual prepaid | $0.25 | s-credit-pricing |
| Enterprise Suite Flex credit | credit | annual (US) | $1.5 | s-credit-pricing, t-siemcost |
| Continuous tier log ingest | gb-ingested | credits | Not stated | s-credit-pricing |
| Frequent tier log ingest | gb-ingested | credits | Not stated | s-credit-pricing |
| Infrequent tier log ingest | gb-ingested | credits | Not stated | s-credit-pricing |
| Infrequent tier search | gb-scanned | credits | Not stated | s-credit-pricing, s-data-tiers |
| Log storage | gb-retained-month | credits | Not stated | s-credit-pricing |
| Metrics ingest | custom | credits | Not stated | s-credit-pricing |
| Tracing ingest | gb-ingested | credits | Not stated | s-credit-pricing |
| Cloud SIEM (CSE) ingest | gb-ingested | credits | Not stated | s-credit-pricing |
| Flex log ingest | gb-ingested | Flex | $0 | s-pricing |
| Flex Log Upfront Search | gb-scanned | Flex (reserved) | Not stated | s-credit-pricing |
| Flex Log Metered Search | gb-scanned | Flex (overage) | Not stated | s-credit-pricing |
| Flex Log scan (calculator estimate) | gb-scanned | Flex | Not stated | t-motadata, t-siemcost |
| Flex Log Storage | gb-retained-month | Flex (US annual) | $0.075 | s-credit-pricing, t-siemcost |
| Data Forwarding | custom | Flex | Not stated | s-credit-pricing |
| SOC Analyst Agent | custom | credits | Not stated | s-credit-pricing |
| Cloud SOAR | user-month | credits | Not stated | s-credit-pricing |
How the estimate is built
The standard deployment is priced by these components (methodology). A quantity is a formula over the workload variables; free allowances are subtracted first, and a tier prices only its own band.
| Component | Line item | Quantity | Free | Tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Logs, Continuous tier (25 credits/GB) | Cloud Flex Credit - Enterprise Operations · per credit · annual prepaid | log_gb * 25 | ||
| Log storage, 30 days (0.05 credits/GB) | Cloud Flex Credit - Enterprise Operations · per credit · annual prepaid | log_gb * 0.05 | ||
| Tracing ingest (35 credits/GB) | Cloud Flex Credit - Enterprise Operations · per credit · annual prepaid | span_gb * 35 | ||
| Metrics (10 credits per 1k DPM per day) | Cloud Flex Credit - Enterprise Operations · per credit · annual prepaid | metric_dpm / 1000 * 10 * (hours / 24) |
Example monthly bills
The same four illustrative workloads as the calculator, at list price. "At least" means a price the vendor does not state is left out of the total.
| Workload | Per month | Note | Calculator |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $1,173 | Open Starter in the calculator→ | |
| Small | $8,180 | Open Small in the calculator→ | |
| Medium | $142,589 | Open Medium in the calculator→ | |
| Large | $1,409,734 | Open Large in the calculator→ |
Capabilities
What Sumo Logic offers, by the definitions in the dataset. Add-on means a separately priced product.
| Capability | Level | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Ai assistant nl query Natural-language query or chat assistant | Yes | s-dojo-aug2026, s-dojo-rsac |
| Ai root cause AI-assisted root-cause analysis or investigation agent | Partial | s-credit-pricing, s-dojo-aug2026 |
| Anomaly detection Statistical/ML anomaly detection on telemetry | Yes | s-aws-monitoring |
| Fedramp FedRAMP authorized (state level in note) | Yes | s-fedramp |
| Hipaa HIPAA-eligible (BAA available) | Yes | s-faq |
| Logs Log management | Yes | s-pricing |
| Mcp server Exposes an MCP server for agents | Partial | s-dojo-aug2026, s-dojo-rsac |
| Metrics Metrics | Yes | s-metrics, s-pricing |
| Multi destination routing Route one stream to several third-party destinations | Add-on | s-credit-pricing |
| Observability as code Terraform provider / dashboards-and-alerts as code | Yes | s-terraform |
| Open format archive Archive in an open format (Parquet, JSON, OTLP) in customer object storage | Yes | s-archive |
| Otel collector distro Ships or supports its own OpenTelemetry Collector distribution | Yes | s-otel-collector, s-otlp-source |
| Otlp ingest Accepts OTLP (gRPC or HTTP) natively, without a proprietary agent in the path | Yes | s-otlp-source |
| Proprietary agent required Full functionality needs the vendor's own agent (yes = lock-in signal) | No | s-otlp-source, s-rum |
| Rehydration Re-ingest archived data for search on demand | Yes | s-archive |
| Rum Real-user monitoring (browser/mobile) | Yes | s-rum |
| Saas Vendor-hosted SaaS | Yes | s-credit-pricing |
| Sampling tail Tail-based trace sampling | Partial | s-credit-pricing, s-trace-filter, s-tracing-ingest |
| Security siem SIEM or security analytics | Add-on | s-credit-pricing |
| Self hosted Customer can run it on its own infrastructure | No | s-pricing |
| Slo management First-class SLO/error-budget objects | Yes | s-slo |
| Tiered storage Hot/warm/cold or archive tiers priced differently | Yes | s-credit-pricing, s-data-tiers |
| Traces Distributed tracing | Yes | s-pricing |
Sources
Every page cited above, with the date it was read. Third-party pages are marked; a price stated only by a third party is shown as not stated.
Spotted a wrong price? A way to report one is not set up yet.