At a glance
- Deployment
- saas, self-hosted
- Licence
- proprietary
- Categories
- observability platform, apm, log management, metrics backend, rum synthetics, incident management
- Ownership
- Acquired by Turn/River Capital, closed 2025-04-16 · s19, s2, s3, s4, s5, s6, s7
- Estimate
- Costed from published list prices
- Vendor-side sampling
- no
What it charges for
Every line item recorded for SolarWinds. "Not stated" means the vendor's own page gives no number; it is never treated as zero.
| Line item | Unit | Commitment | List price | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application Observability | custom | multi-year, billed annually (starting at) | $27.5 | s1, s25, s31 |
| Network and Infrastructure Observability | host-month | multi-year, billed annually (starting at) | $15.75 | s1, s31 |
| Log Observability (starting at) | gb-ingested | multi-year, billed annually (starting at) | $5 | s1, s31 |
| Log Observability, 30-day retention (reseller) | gb-ingested | annual (reseller list) | Not stated | s26 |
| Database Observability | custom | multi-year, billed annually (starting at) | $70 | s1, s31 |
| Digital Experience Observability - Synthetic | custom | multi-year, billed annually (starting at) | $10 | s1, s31 |
| Digital Experience Observability - RUM | custom | multi-year, billed annually (starting at) | $10 | s1, s31 |
| Application Observability (AWS Marketplace) | custom | 1-month contract | $34 | s27 |
| Network and Infrastructure Observability (AWS Marketplace) | host-month | 1-month contract | $15 | s27 |
| Log Observability, 15-day retention (AWS Marketplace) | gb-ingested | 1-month contract | $11 | s27 |
| Database Observability (AWS Marketplace) | custom | 1-month contract | $88 | s27 |
| Digital Experience Observability - Synthetic (AWS Marketplace) | custom | 1-month contract | $13 | s27 |
| Digital Experience Observability - RUM (AWS Marketplace) | custom | 1-month contract | $13 | s27 |
| SolarWinds Observability Self-Hosted | host-month | multi-year, billed annually (starting at) | $8 | s23, s24 |
| SolarWinds Database (self-hosted / SaaS database performance) | custom | annual (starting at) | $142 | s28 |
| SolarWinds Incident Response | user-month | starting at | $15 | s28 |
| Loggly Standard | flat-month | annual | $79 | s29 |
| Loggly Pro | flat-month | annual | $159 | s29 |
| Loggly Enterprise | flat-month | annual | $279 | s29 |
How the estimate is built
The standard deployment is priced by these components (methodology). A quantity is a formula over the workload variables; free allowances are subtracted first, and a tier prices only its own band.
| Component | Line item | Quantity | Free | Tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Infrastructure nodes (hosts + containers / 10) | Network and Infrastructure Observability · per host-month · multi-year, billed annually (starting at) | hosts + containers / 10 | ||
| APM service instances (containers on traced hosts) | Application Observability · per custom · multi-year, billed annually (starting at) | containers * apm_hosts / hosts | ||
| Logs ingested, 30-day retention (reseller list) | Log Observability, 30-day retention (reseller) · per gb-ingested · annual (reseller list) | log_gb |
Example monthly bills
The same four illustrative workloads as the calculator, at list price. "At least" means a price the vendor does not state is left out of the total.
| Workload | Per month | Note | Calculator |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | ≥ $629 | At least; no stated price for Logs ingested, 30-day retention (reseller list) | Open Starter in the calculator→ |
| Small | ≥ $1,077 | At least; no stated price for Logs ingested, 30-day retention (reseller list) | Open Small in the calculator→ |
| Medium | ≥ $10,770 | At least; no stated price for Logs ingested, 30-day retention (reseller list) | Open Medium in the calculator→ |
| Large | ≥ $138,350 | At least; no stated price for Logs ingested, 30-day retention (reseller list) | Open Large in the calculator→ |
Capabilities
What SolarWinds offers, by the definitions in the dataset. Add-on means a separately priced product.
| Capability | Level | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Ai assistant nl query Natural-language query or chat assistant | Partial | s6, s8 |
| Ai root cause AI-assisted root-cause analysis or investigation agent | Yes | s6, s8 |
| Alerting Alert rules with routing/notification | Yes | s15 |
| Anomaly detection Statistical/ML anomaly detection on telemetry | Yes | s8 |
| Continuous profiling Continuous profiling | Partial | s1 |
| Data reduction Drop, aggregate, dedupe, or convert logs-to-metrics before billing | Partial | s14 |
| Incident response Native on-call/incident workflow | Add-on | s18, s4 |
| Logs Log management | Yes | s1, s16 |
| Metrics Metrics | Yes | s12, s9 |
| Observability as code Terraform provider / dashboards-and-alerts as code | Yes | s15 |
| Otel collector distro Ships or supports its own OpenTelemetry Collector distribution | Yes | s11 |
| Otlp ingest Accepts OTLP (gRPC or HTTP) natively, without a proprietary agent in the path | Yes | s10 |
| Prometheus remote write Accepts Prometheus remote_write | Partial | s12 |
| Rbac Role-based access control | Yes | s21 |
| Rum Real-user monitoring (browser/mobile) | Yes | s1, s17 |
| Saas Vendor-hosted SaaS | Yes | s1, s15 |
| Sampling tail Tail-based trace sampling | Partial | s13 |
| Self hosted Customer can run it on its own infrastructure | Yes | s22, s23, s24 |
| Slo management First-class SLO/error-budget objects | Add-on | s18, s20 |
| Sso saml SSO via SAML/OIDC | Yes | s21 |
| Synthetics Synthetic monitoring | Yes | s1, s17 |
| Tiered storage Hot/warm/cold or archive tiers priced differently | Partial | s1, s9 |
| Traces Distributed tracing | Yes | s1, s9 |
Sources
Every page cited above, with the date it was read. Third-party pages are marked; a price stated only by a third party is shown as not stated.
Spotted a wrong price? A way to report one is not set up yet.